Confessions

It has been 21 days since I last posted and there is no valid excuse.

There are many things that have led to my absence. Indifference in my part is I think the major culprit.

The first blow was that I was too late to register for my first marathon and as a result just stopped running. I was bummed out and just could not find the motivation to get out there with nothing to run for. My second marathon is in October, which is 6 months away. Unfortunately that is not enough to motivate me into a regular running schedule. I have a bet with my brother coz he thinks that I cant do a run longer than 10Km this year. I took him up on the challenge and I one- upped him by pledging to do it by the end of this month. I have until April 30th to get a run longer than 10Km.  Money is on the line here and if that doesn’t get me back out there I don’t know what will.

 

Confession number two and a lesson learned is that only weighing in once a month was the worst idea I ever come up with. As a result of not having a regular weigh-in to keep me in check I gained a 5Kgs. Yes, you read that right. It seems instead of losing a KG a month I was gaining one.
So to start a fresh, I changed my weight loss ticker at the side of my blog to zero and I have a goal of losing 40lbs by the end of this year.  That would give me a goal of 5lbs a month. My brain tells me this would be no sweat but I have learned the hard way that I can gain 5kg in a month but losing it is another story.

 

As much as I am tempted to make grand goals of all the things that I will be doing but I shall resist and just stick with the basics.

Eat less (which is no problem at all) and move more (the bane of my existence).

 

I am taking baby steps. I am sticking to 1200 calories a day and at least 30 minutes of exercise daily. My hope is to slowly get back to running and by the end of the month, run a 10K. I should probably get one of those couch to 10K podcasts and try follow that like a beginner. Once I get my grove back on I will probably be upping my calories in relation to my exercise. my plan is to restart the 30 day shred and work on from there.

 

Sorry for neglecting this blog. I hope to get back to a regular blogging schedule.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Confessions

  1. Try to stop thinking about rigid running schedules and commit to walking say four or five times a week. While you are walking, mix in a little jogging. Chances are you will begin doing more jogging than walking, and then fartleks. Find what works for you.

Leave a Reply

