Day 180: marathon training day 3, week 1/18 and exhaustion

Today was my 5 mile run and my first success of the day was that I got up without once hitting the snooze button.  I kept my phone on the other end of the room and had to get up and walk across the cold floor and that got me up right quick. I got dressed and drank my warm water/lemon/ cayenne pepper concoction and I was out of the door in 15 minutes.

I was a bit wary of this run. Since the year started I have only done 5 straight miles once. If it wasn’t for that the fact that it was right there in black and white that today was a 5 miler, I don’t think I would have finished it. I was exhausted by the 3-mile marker. I mean wiped out. This just goes to show you how out of shape I really am. By mile four, I was ready to get a shortcut and get back home. Good ting there are no shortcuts to my route and I had to complete the whole thing. By the time I got home, I had done a little over 5 miles.

I had breakfast and went right back to bed.

 

Speaking of food, I have decided to try and get onto the 5-6  small meals a day train. I just realized that the more exercise I do, the more hungry I get and I start snacking a lot. So I have decided to try and divided my calories into five-300 calorie meals and see how it goes.

One thought on “Day 180: marathon training day 3, week 1/18 and exhaustion

  1. I am trying my best to run outside while training and the neighborhood I live in means there are no short cuts, if I’ve gone out 3 miles, it will take me 3 miles to get home no matter what! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

