Day 160: Facing the Music

Now that my holiday is over, it’s time to face the music. I stepped on the scale and its worse than I thought.

Here is the cold hard truth in Black and white 175.6. Yup! That’s over a 5lb gain in about a week.

It really clicked in my brain that I have been off my game the past few weeks. I was so good during the holidays but for some reason after the New Year, I Just didn’t give a fudge.

My running has suffered, I haven’t had a decent workout in a few weeks and my eating has gone to the pigs.

I need to implement a few plans that I have been bouncing around my head and blog.

I am going grocery shopping today for my carb cycling. Lots of low carb high protein vegetarian foods. I am going to make a menu for my low carb days and my high carb days.

Tomorrow will be day one of the low carb cycle. This means my carb intake will be between 30-50g of carbs and try to get my protein above 100g. my calories will be at 1200 .My first cycle will be Friday- Sunday.
This will be followed by my high carb day where by I will be getting my carbs up to 175g (my current weight in grams) and my protein will stay at the same level. My calories will go up to 1700-1800 to compensate for the increased intake carbs. My high carb day will also see an increase in my running mileage and strength training.

Apart from my food plan, I am back on track with my running. My goal is to get in 6-7 days a week until I start my marathon-training plan. I need to get back in the groove before I can seriously start my training. Registration for the marathon is next week and I think that is the kick in the butt I so urgently need.

After I get my shopping and menu set, I will share in detail what I plan to eat during each phase of the cycle.

Wish me luck.

Here is a sample on macros for carb cycling.

You can calculate what you need to eating.

Leave a Reply

