Day 137: Vegetarian Low carb recipe: protein pancakes and 2013 goals

First lets start with the goals. One of my 13 in 13 was to start running in the rain. I live in a pretty rainy area. pretty much rain and fog all year round. As a result, I always make the excuse to not go running when it rains, which is always. this year, I decided that I would get myself some running in the rain gear( still haven’t gone shopping) and just step out and run.

Today I did it. I woke up at about 5:30 and when I stepped outside, the grass was wet and there was a light drizzle outside.Let me start by saying that getting out of bed today was a struggle. I finally got out about 30 minutes after my alarm clock rang by reminding myself MARATHON!!! MARATHON!!!. so the rain was a perfect excuse to go back to sleep. good news, I didn’t. I got out there and pounded out 3 miles with misty glasses, wet hoodie and all. I felt really good about myself. I think I have proven to myself that it can be done. Next time it rains and I have a run scheduled, No more Excuses.

Now onto the Yumminess.

I love pancakes for breakfast but the carbs in each are just too much. I have accepted the fact that my body does not work well with carbs and this weekends carb-fest led to a 4lb gain despite the fact I was under my calorie limit on all days. A calorie is not a calorie.

So Now that I am back on my regular schedule I decided to make a low carb version of pancakes. No flour in the recipe and no whey or protein powder.

What you will need

  1. I cup of any nut flour (almond, peanut etc. I used peanut flour)
  2. ¼ cup of desiccated coconut
  3. ¼ cup of soy milk
  4. I large egg
  5. I table spoon of baking powder
  6. 2 teaspoons of sugar (avoid this if you want- the coconut has enough sugar to make the pancakes sweet.

 

(Makes 5 servings)

-Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl

– Add the wet ingredients and mix. Make sure the consistency isn’t too thick- can add some water.

you don’t want the mixture to be too watery

– Put some butte on a hot pan and put about a table spoon of the mixture( I leaned the hard way that too much will result in a mess that looks nothing like a pancake.) small pancakes about 2.5-3.5 inches in diameter are best.

– Cook both sides about 2 minutes each on medium heat.

– Ready to serve

I think it might take me a whole to get used to the taste. It is sweet (coconut) and nutty and I’m not a huge fun of nutty tastes. I can’t even look at a peanut butter cup and it’s taken me a while to even put peanut butter on toast. But I will make myself love these. Don’t get me wrong they taste delicious. And at 5g carbs and 15g protein, they are a win

 

Nutritional value

Calories 149, carbs 9g, Fiber 4g, net carbs 5g, protein 15g, sodium 23g

 

Traditional pancakes

Calories 178, net carb 21g, protein 5g, sodium 26g, fiber 1g

 

 

Exercise

-3mi/41 minutes- walked about half of it.

-Ab work 100 crunches, 100 reverse crunches, 100 bicycle crunches,  30 sec plank, 100 oblique crunches,

-30-day shred.- day 7 level 1

 

 

One thought on “Day 137: Vegetarian Low carb recipe: protein pancakes and 2013 goals

  1. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on
    the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Superb work!

Leave a Reply

