New Series:Make your own- SOYMILK

I have decided to start a recurring feature. In an attempt to get to a healthier lifestyle with less processed food, I will be attempting to make my own food from scratch as much as I possible can. There are so many things that we buy at the store already made but with a bit of time and patience, we can make them ourselves. This will save us from all the unknown and unpronounceable ingredients that they add.  I will endeavor to share all these in a new tab at the top of my blog.

 

  1.     Make your own Soymilk.

As I was planning my detox menu and knew that I would be making my own green monster smoothie, the first thing on my shopping list was tons of soymilk. I have been playing with the idea of making soymilk for a while and even once soaked the beans but ended up cooking them. This is so quick (as in hands on time) and makes lots of milk at a very cheap price. Saves money and is healthy too.

You will need

Mature soybean

Water

Blender

Large pot

Cheesecloth or kitchen cloth

 

  • Soak 2 cups of white /yellow mature soybeans for at least 8 hrs. I would do it over night so it gets really big and soft. I had mine soaked for 24 hrs.
  • This will produce about 4/5 cups of beans.
  • You will make your milk in batches. For every cup of soybeans, you will need 3 cups of water. (You can make it two if you want your milk to be thicker)
  • Blend this in a blender for about 2 minutes.
  • Sieve this in the cheese cloth to separate the milk and pulp
  • Put the separated milk in the pot and repeat the cycle.
  • After you have all the milk ready, boil the soymilk for about 20-30 minutes. Do not leave it unattended and stir frequently.
  • At this point, you can add a cinnamon stick, or vanilla extract or some sugar to sweeten it. I left my plain.

The milk has a beany taste, which might take sometime to get used to. I personally don’t think I can drink this plain. I know some people who swear by it and would never drink the commercial soymilk. But it is absolutely perfect for the green monster or any smoothie you might make. It also works as a great substitute for any recipe that calls for milk

I read on some blogs that you could boil the milk in a tablespoon of baking soda to get rid of the beany taste. I don’t mind it so I didn’t do it. I might try at a later date and share whether there was a great difference in taste.

Enjoy and let me know what you do differently.

Leave a Reply

