Day 84: Breakfast and recipes

I think I’m getting better with watching my carbs. I’m still averaging about 60-70g of carbs and I think I am comfortable with that.  As I lose weight, I plan on getting that up to 100 by incorporating more legumes and whole grains into my diet.

I prepped myself for the week and made a few things.

1st I made a pumpkin curry soup I always make. Recipe here. Made about 10 cups and is in the fridge ready to be reheated.

Butternut squash curry soup

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2nd, I also made some Vegetable protein Patties. Recipe here. These are a staple in my fridge and I use them mostly for breakfast.

 

TVP “sausage” patty

3rd, another staple in my fridge is pan-fried tofu. I make it simple with salt and pepper and sometimes curry. I add this to salads and soups to add protein and make the meal more filling.
Recipe
Ingredients: a block of tofu, salt and pepper

Procedure: Cut the block into about ten slices. Sprinkle salt and pepper to both sides. (Feel free to add any spices that you might like. Good options included ginger and soy sauce). Put some oil on a non-stick pan and fry each side until brown.

 

4th , I made some soybean salad. Soybean is great because of all the beans; it has low net carbs and plenty of protein. One cup of mature yellow soybean is about 298 calories, 17.1g of carbs/10g of fiber (net carbs per cup is only 7gJ and 28.6g of protein= WIN

2 cups mature yellow soybean

Chopped veggies

mix with spices and cider vinegar

Viola! ready to eat

 

 

 

 

Recipe

Ingredients: 2 cups boiled mature soybean, a large cucumber, a small purple onion, a small bell pepper, one medium tomato and some cilantro (optional), salt and pepper, cumin and apple cider vinegar.

Procedure: chop all the veggies. Mix in a bowl with your soybean. Add salt, pepper, cumin, and 2tbs of apple cider vinegar. Mix and ready to eat. Makes about 8 servings. A serving is a 1/4cup.

 

My breakfast is kind of a staple. I eat the same thing everyday for a week and then switch it up to kill the boredom.
This week it has been 2TVP patties, half an avocado, 1/4cup of soybean salad and an egg. Total calories are about 532 cals (I include the oil used to fry the egg) and a net carb of 11g.

breakfast of champions. 532 cals 11g of carbohydrates

i Have neglected my exercise but i did go for a walk on tuesday and thursday. my body just wont let me run yet. or maybe thats the excuse i am using for being a bit lazy this week. next week I start my 10K daily challenge. I have been getting in all my water and have resisted getting on the scale.

 

Leave a Reply

