Day 77: The pre-marathon meal

 

So I have been racking my brain about what to eat the night before my run. I know that is has to be carb heavy but not too calorie

I got a recipe from MoveEatcreate@wordpress.com here is a link to her recipe. http://moveeatcreate.wordpress.com/2012/10/21/recipe-koshari-pre-race-dinner-and-one-of-my-favorite-meals/

 

It’s Koshari, a mixture of pasta, rice and lentils. It sounds like the perfect carbload without it being too heavy. I’m trying it out today just to make sure that I it sits well with me. I don’t want to risk anything before the race.

Here are the ingredients

 

  1. I cup lentils
  2. I cup rice
  3. 1 cup small pasta
  4. 3 large tomatoes
  5. green peppers, zuchinni
  6. I large onion
  7. Garlic
  8. Olive oil
  9. Dried mixed herbs

10. Spices (I just threw in a bunch of spices I had in the pantry. Cumin, curry powder, black pepper, cayenne pepper)

11. 1-cup pasta sauce.

lentils

cook it(pretty simple)

 

have fun with different types of pasta

cook down the tomatoes with pasta sauce and your veggies

 

finished product

 

Steps:

–       Cook the rice, lentils and the pasta.

–       Sauté the garlic, onion in oil and then add the chopped tomatoes and the green peppers and zucchin

 

–       Add in the pasta sauce and the spices and let it cook for a few minutes

–       Add the cooked rice, pasta and lentil

Tadaaa it was done!

Leave a Reply

